Automated Aquatics Leadership Scholarship

DEADLINE: March 31, 2025

Scholarship Background

In 2022, the Lifesaving Society partnered with Automated Aquatics Canada Ltd. to award scholarships annually to Society members wanting to advance their leadership capacity in delivering Lifesaving Society education and training programs in Alberta and the Northwest Territories. These scholarships are valued at $250 each and will be administered by the Society.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees for the Automated Aquatics Leadership Scholarship must:

  • Be a current Lifesaving Society leadership award(s) holder
  • Be a member in good standing
  • Be actively employed, part-time or full-time, with an Affiliate Delivery Partner
  • Demonstrate commitment to their community
  • Exhibit desire to build their Lifesaving Society leadership capacity

Application & Selection Process

Applicants must submit the Automated Aquatics Leadership Scholarship Application Form (see link below) outlining their Lifesaving Society experience.  One employment and one personal reference must accompany the application form.  Volunteer involvement in the aquatic community is considered an asset.

Scholarships will be awarded during the Lifesaving Society Annual General Meeting and Branch Recognition Awards event in June of each year.

Payment of Scholarship

Payment of the scholarship occurs after participation in a Lifesaving Society leadership program or training event. Scholarship recipients may submit receipts to a maximum of $250.00.  Scholarships must be used within two (2) years. Reimbursable costs include: registration, travel and accommodation. 

Automated Aquatics Leadership Scholarship Application Form

Automated Aquatics Scholarship Recipients

2023: Recipient:

Rose Miller, Blackfalds


2022 Recipient:

Andres Solarte

DB Perks Leadership Scholarship Recipients

Prior to 2022 the Lifesaving Society partnered with DB Perks to provide a leadership scholarship. The recipients of the DB Perks Scholarships have been leaders within their community delivering and supporting Lifesaving Society programs and services to various individuals and community groups.  They have demonstrated commitment and desire to the Society to advance their education and training in leadership programs.

2020 Recipients: 

Kourtney Pasula, Fox Creek

Rachael Morgan, Red Deer

Rose Binley-Ewing, Calgary

Sara Sylvestre, Edmonton


2019 Recipients: 

Ryan Bergheim, Red Deer 

Victoria Winder, Calgary 


2018 Recipients: 

Will Blackie, Okotoks

Kianna Mora Game, Rocky Mountain House

Brooke Smith, Jasper


2017 Recipients:

Ginger Petersen, High Prairie

Kristin Greenwood, Fort Saskatchewan

Merel Krosse, Fort Macleod

Savannah Brittner, Calgary


2016 Recipients:

Danise Simpelo, Calgary

Kaitlyn Miklas, Yellowknife

Lyndsey Duffy, Clive

Robbyn Hesch, Calgary


2015 Recipients:

Mike Scott, Inuvik

Nicki Gramlich, Red Deer

Katie Crysdale, Lac La Biche


2014 Recipients:

Shauna JacksonCrabb, Stony Plain

Tegan Chislett, Lac La Biche

Caitlyn Davis, Calgary

Paula Vandenberg, Edmonton


2013 Recipients:

Chelsea Brooks, St. Albert

Heather Larson, Edmonton


2012 Recipients:

Thomas Bromeling, Jasper

Jeff Vastenhout, Camrose


2011 Recipients:

Jonathan Yamashita, Lethbridge

Heather Belecky, Edson