Commonwealth Rescue Awards

Mountbatten Medal Recipients

The Mountbatten Medal was instituted by the Royal Life Saving Society Commonwealth and named after the Society's then Grand President, The Earl Mountbatten of Burma. The Mountbatten Medal is given annually for the most courageous rescue or rescue attempt in the Commonwealth by the holder of a Royal Life Saving Society Award.

Since its inception in 1951, nine Canadians have received the prestigious Mountbatten Medal, eight of them come from Alberta. Read these gallant rescue stories of Albertans who have received the Mountbatten Medal.

Robert Wardle - 1951

Kenneth Howlett - 1963

Lynda Dann - 1964

Vanessa Bailey - 1999

Kelly Hawken- 2004 (also received Letter of Commendation)

Corey Wood - 2006

Tamara Loiselle - 2015

Andrew Pearson - 2017

HRH Prince Michael of Kent Certificate of Merit

The Royal Life Saving Society - Commonwealth awards the HRH Prince Michael of Kent Certificate of Merit for outstanding Service to the Society or, for outstanding acts of bravery by an individual(s) not eligible for the Mountbatten Medal or Russell Medal. 

Casey Peirce received this prestigious award in June 2009.

Read her story >>> Casey Peirce Rescue Story

Russell Medal


The Russell Medal was introduced in 2000 by the Royal Life Saving Society Commonwealth as a permanent memorial for Pat Russell, a dedicated Society member. The criteria for the Russell Medal are that it be given to a person 18 years of age or younger who, during the previous calendar year, carried out the most outstanding resuscitation or attempted resuscitation of a person. It was also suggested that anyone nominated for the award would be a member of either the Royal Life Saving Society or one of its affiliated clubs/organizations anywhere in the Commonwealth.Nominations for the Russell Medal are made through Lifesaving Society Branch offices, which submit them to the National Office of the Society. Then they are forwarded to the Commonwealth Secretary General and Commonwealth Council who make the final selection of the recipient from all nominations received.

Tyler Bailer received this prestigious rescue award in November 2016 at a special 125th anniversary reception at Buckingham Palace in London, England.

Read his story >>> Tyler Bailer Rescue Story


Content Copyright © RLSS        RLSS Website Policies       Report Problems