DB Perks Leadership Scholarship

DEADLINE: March 31, 2018 at 4:30 p.m.

Scholarship Background

In 2010, the Lifesaving Society partnered with DB Perks and Associates Ltd. to award scholarships annually to Society members wanting to advance their leadership capacity in delivering Lifesaving Society education and training programs in Alberta and the Northwest Territories.  These scholarships are valued at $250 each and will be administered by the Society.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees for the DB Perks Scholarship must:

  • Be a current Lifesaving Society leadership award(s) holder
  • Be a member in good standing
  • Be actively employed, part-time or full-time, with an Affiliate Delivery Partner
  • Demonstrate commitment to their community
  • Exhibit desire to build their Lifesaving Society leadership capacity

Application & Selection Process

Applicants must submit the DB Perks Leadership Scholarship Application Form (see link below) outlining their Lifesaving Society experience.  One employment and one personal reference must accompany the application form.  Volunteer involvement in the aquatic community is considered an asset.

Scholarships will be awarded during the Lifesaving Society Annual General Meeting and Branch Recognition Awards event in June of each year.

Payment of Scholarship

Payment of the scholarship occurs after participation in a Lifesaving Society leadership program or training event. Scholarship recipients may submit receipts to a maximum of $250.00.  Scholarships must be used within two (2) years. Reimbursable costs include: registration, travel and accommodation. 

DB Perks Leadership Scholarship Application Form

DB Perks Leadership Scholarship Recipients

The recipients of the DB Perks Scholarships have been leaders within their community delivering and supporting Lifesaving Society programs and services to various individuals and community groups.  They have demonstrated commitment and desire to the Society to advance their education and training in leadership programs.

2018 recipients were Will Blackie from Okotoks, Kianna Mora Game from Rocky Mountain House, and Brooke Smith from Jasper.

2017 recipients were Ginger Petersen from High Prairie, Kristin Greenwood from Fort Saskatchewan, Merel Krosse from Fort Macleod, and Savannah Brittner from Calgary.

2016 recipients were Danise Simpelo from Calgary, Kaitlyn Miklas from Yellowknife, Lyndsey Duffy from Clive, and Robbyn Hesch from Calgary.

2015 recipients were Mike Scott from Inuvik, Nicki Gramlich from Red Deer, and Katie Crysdale from Lac La Biche.

2014 recipients were Shauna JacksonCrabb from Stony Plain, Tegan Chislett from Lac La Biche, Caitlyn Davis from Calgary and Paula Vandenberg from Edmonton.

2013 recipients were Chelsea Brooks from St. Albert and Heather Larson from Edmonton.

2012 recipients were Thomas Bromeling from Jasper, and Jeff Vastenhout from Camrose.

2011 recipients were Jonathan Yamashita from Lethbridge and Heather Belecky from Edson.


Content Copyright © RLSS        RLSS Website Policies       Report Problems